smart business owners know that retaining customers is over 10x more valuable than earning new ones. springbig's software is proven to more than double your customer loyalty metric.
springbig's software is proven to bring customers into your store more often, making all of your customers your best customers.
not only does our software boast a proven ability to keep your customers loyal to your brand, and not only do they come back more often, but a strong customer relationship has incredibly positive impacts on customer behavior, leading to revenue increases of 25%.
communication is key - staying in touch with customers has shown our businesses a 20% lift in visits
springbig’s text messages let your customers see your new products as they come in and hear about them as you market them
customers are awarded points for making a purchase at your store – points that can be used to earn rewards preselected by you. why would they ever go anywhere else?
targeted marketing means you get the right information in front of the right people. markit breaks down your customers based on preference, allowing you to market more effectively and gain a deeper understanding of your business
set it and forget it. create an autoconnect once and customers will automatically receive the right text at the right time - you don't have to lift a finger
Understanding customer behavior and preferences is critical to maintaining a strong relationship with them – our real time analytics organize this data into the most easy to use formats and are just a click away
on average businesses using springbig see a 25% sales lift per campaign sent
businesses using springbig's targeted campaigns see a 10x increase in conversion rates
businesses using springbig more than double their number of repeat customers
Sending a promotion through springbig increases customer visits by 25% on average. Just take one of our businesses in San Diego for example. A day without sending an SMS campaign brought in roughly 175 visits, when sending a campaign the dispensary saw an average of 25% lift in traffic or 40 additional visits.
At an average of $45 spend per visit, the business sees an additional $1,800 revenue per day!